Missouri Auto Insurance FAQs
Missouri auto insurance laws, simplified
Do You Need Auto Insurance in Missouri?
If you own a car and drive it in Missouri you are required to get auto insurance. To be legal on the road, you must at least satisfy the minimum insurance requirement in Missouri, which is liability insurance with at least the limits of 25/50/25. Your auto insurance policy can have higher limits if so requested. In order to register a vehicle in Missouri you have to show proof of insurance that shows your name, insurance company name, effective and expiration date as well as vehicle details.
What bodily injury and property damage coverage is required in Missouri?
The law requires bodily injury and property damage coverage. The bodily injury coverage must be at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 each accident. Required property damage limit in Missouri is at least $25,000 per accident. Uninsured Motorist limit is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
This means that even if multiple people are injured during the same accident, your insurance policy will pay for no more than the maximum limit.
Optional Coverage in Missouri:
Is Missouri a No Fault Insurance State?
Missouri is a At Fault State, meaning party responsible for the accident is also responsible to pay for the damages.
Sometimes multiple parties can be At Fault to a certain degree and claims are settled based on the percentage of fault.
What is the average cost of auto insurance in Missouri?
The average cost of auto insurance in Missouri is $1334 per year. This amount can vary depending on the driver’s age, gender, driving history, and other factors. However, it is important to have some type of auto insurance in order to protect yourself financially in case of an accident. There are a number of different types of auto insurance policies available, so it is important to shop around and find the policy that best suits your needs. You can typically get lower rates by bundling your auto insurance with other policies, such as home or renters insurance.
If you are looking for cheap auto insurance in Missouri, be sure to compare rates from multiple providers.
What Happens if I Drive Without Insurance in Missouri?
If you drive without insurance in Missouri, you can face high penalties:
First offense, $20 reinstatement fee, SR22 insurance requirement, 4 points on your license.
Second offense – up to $500 fine, license suspended for 90 days, $200 reinstatement fee, 4 points on your record.
Third offense – up to $500 fine, license suspension for 1 year, $400 reinstatement fee and up to 15 days in jail and 4 points on your driving record.
It’s important to make sure that you have the proper insurance coverage before you hit the road. Contact our agents today for more information.
When I Buy a New Car, When Should I Add It To My Policy?
If you buy a new car, you should add it to your policy right away, but you have up to 30 days to do so. During that time, same coverage applies as the vehicle on the policy. If you are financing the car, it must have comprehensive and collision coverage. This is because the lender will require it in order to protect their investment. If you want comprehensive and collision coverage on your new vehicle, you’ll need to immediately add it if your current auto insurance policy only covers liability.
Talk to your agent about adding the new car to your policy and make sure you are fully protected.
Can I Make a Late Insurance Payment in Missouri?
In most cases, you will be charged a late fee if you make your auto insurance payment after the original due date. Typical grace period in Missouri is 10 days. This gives you time to get your payment in without losing coverage. Be sure to contact your insurer if you have any questions about making a late payment. Making a late payment might raise your rate on renewal since your insurance provider regards you as a higher risk of losing coverage. So it’s important to try to avoid late payments if at all possible. If you’re having trouble making your payments, be sure to reach out to your insurer for help. They may be able to work with you to find a solution that fits your budget.
Will I Have Auto Insurance Coverage During Grace Period?
Yes, you will have insurance coverage during the grace period. However, a late fee will be added to your account. Some insurers will ask you to pay the past due payment to afford coverage during grace period.
What if I am in an Accident Without Insurance in Missouri?
In the state of Missouri, your license will be suspended if you are involved in an accident and do not have automobile insurance. In addition to repaying damages to the other party or their insurance company, you could face a six month suspension from driving and fines up to $500 depending on where the accident occurred. This does not include major accidents which can carry a ten year license revocation as well as criminal charges against you. You must carry at least minimum limits of liability insurance for any vehicle you own.
What Happens if I get a DWI in Missouri?
If you are convicted of a DWI in Missouri, you will face a 90 day license suspension and up to 48 hours in jail. A second DWI conviction is a 1 year license revocation or more if less than 5 years between convictions. Three of more DWI convictions will result in a 10-year license denial and possible criminal charges. Ready to get a quote? Bargain Insurance Connection can help you save money on your auto insurance. We have a variety of plans to choose from, so you can find the perfect coverage for your needs. Call us at 816.453.7722 or request a quote online today. You’ll be glad you did!