Kansas Auto Insurance
Kansas Car Insurance regulations and laws explained
Do you need auto insurance in Kansas?
To drive legally in the State of Kansas, you have to carry certain types of insurance on your car. Kansas is a “no fault” state, meaning that regardless of who caused an accident, each driver’s own insurance would cover their injuries and damages.
What type of insurance do I need in Kansas?
In Kansas you have to carry at least liability insurance with the state minimum limits of 25/50/25 - $25,000 medical each person, $50,000 medical per accident and $25,000 property damage.
In Kansas you also have to carry so called PIP coverage (personal injury protection) of at least $4,500.
What is personal injury protection (PIP) in Kansas?
Personal injury protection is a type of insurance that covers medical costs and sometimes lost wages for you and your passengers after an accident. It is required in no-fault states like Kansas, and it generally covers medical bills, funeral expenses, lost earnings, rehab services, and other costs related to injuries from a car accident.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Kansas?
If you are caught driving without insurance in Kansas, penalties are high. First offense means suspension of your license or registration, fines between $300 - $1,000 and possible jail time.
Second offense carries steeper financial penalties of $800 - $2,500 and also suspension of your license.
A third conviction will result in your license being revoked for a period of three years.
Driving without insurance in Kansas will also trigger SR22 requirement, which you have to maintain for at least 1 year or more.
What if I have an accident without insurance in Kansas?
Having an car accident in Kansas while not having insurance will be a serious financial burden to you. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, suspension of your driver’s license for at least one month and possibly up to six months. Kansas is a No Fault state which means that each party involved in an accident will be responsible for their own damages through their own insurance policies.
Not having insurance you would have to pay everything out of your own pocket including property damage and medical care. On top of that, you could be sued by the other party or their insurance company for damages.
Therefore, it is highly recommended that you obtain auto insurance with at least Kansas minimum liability limits.
Does Kansas minimum coverage provide enough insurance?
Though Kansas requires a minimum coverage of 25/50/25, it is always wise to obtain higher limits of liability. Consider that $25,000 in medical coverage may be insufficient if you have an accident and incur serious injuries or your car gets totaled but the damage isn't enough for a full replacement.
Available limits are 50/100/50, 100/300/100 or 250/500/100. Not every insurance company offers high limits of liability. Check with your agent or you insurance company.
When choosing coverage in Kansas, consider the value of your car and how much you would need to get your car replaced in case of total loss.
What is No Fault insurance state?
In Kansas, no fault auto insurance applies when a car accident occurs. This statute guarantees that regardless of who is declared liable for the incident, each driver's individual automobile coverage will cover their own medical bills and missed wages associated with the collision.
Do I need to add my family or roommates to my insurance in Kansas?
In Kansas insurance companies require that every licensed driver in the same household is listed on the policy as a driver. There are circumstances where this can be avoided: a household member is insured with another company; household member has never been licensed; a household member is medically prohibited from driving.
Can I register my car without insurance in Kansas?
In order to register a vehicle in Kansas you have to show proof of insurance. Your insurance card must have insurance company name, effective and expiration date, your name and vehicle details.
Ready to get a Kansas auto insurance policy? Call us at 816.453.7722 or request on online quote below.